top of page

The Heart of a Child

What were your fondest childhood dreams?

As a kid, I was made to believe in magic carpet rides, superpowers, and unknown adventures. That, with my teleportation power, I could be up above the trees, mountains, and hills. As a kid, I made myself believe that I can do anything. That I can fall from the sky and jump from a cliff without a scratch. As a kid, I couldn’t wait to grow up very soon so I would be able to do all those things.


Now that I’m 30, it is still a similar case. I still have those fondest thoughts in mind. I still got them hidden in my innermost desires. That is the heart of a child in me. But unlike the child I used to be, fears and doubts creep into me. The hesitations grew bigger than the desires I used to have. It’s as if I was trapped in a room so composed, concentrated and immobile.


Don’t get me wrong. My adult life isn’t that dark and gloomy. I’m having a lot of fun. I’m thankful I got a job. I’m grateful I could pay my bills. I’m delighted I could eat what I want. It’s blissful to see my family happy.


It’s just that... I miss being a child.


How fast time flies! Today, I can say I am half-way to life. What a blessing! Indeed it is! Yet, I still think that the best times of life was when I was a child. It was these times that though fears are real, dreams are bigger, creative and with no bounds.


No wonder Jesus loves the children. He said, “Let the little children come to me and do not stop them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to them.”


There is so much faith, great faith in the heart of a child. Even as grownups, a child’s heart is what God wanted us to have. We may no longer have the same dreams when we were kids but the heart of a child still remains.


There are many adventures to conquer, many steps to take and many more leaps of faith. Bring that heart back. Take on life’s journey with that kind of heart. Get up again with big dreams and great faith just like the child you used to be.

bottom of page