top of page

Which Way to Go?


It’s a new year but I’m not over with myself yet at thinking about what to do with life (I’m referring to long-term plans). I am not getting any younger not to think about the life I wanted when I turn 50, 60 and more. There are several things that run through my mind. One thing is sure, now is not a time to take the wrong road. Whatever I choose will not only affect me but also the people around me at present and to whom I will relate with in the future. But it is also a definite fact that soon, I must decide which road to take.


Are you at a similar point in life? Whenever I am stunned by a dilemma such as this, I have no other way to encourage myself but His words. Here are Bible verses that carry me through at times I am confused or needed direction.


Isaiah 43:2  When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.


Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”


Proverbs 3:5

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.


Psalm 46:1-3  God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth gives way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging.


These aren’t magic words that clear my mind right away. Neither will it make me run towards an arrow pointing me which way to go. This is about trust in the Lord and His sovereignty over my life. I don’t have a lot of mind-blowing experiences in life that I can share to prove this truth. But I am certain that seeking His will, trusting His words and continually abiding by it will lead to pure joy and lasting peace.

bottom of page